Vacation Recap: Eating my way through Cozumel, Mexico

For the past 4 years, my family has organized an annual vacation to the island of Cozumel, Mexico. We rent a house in a beachfront community and spend the week scuba diving, laying on the beach, and most of all…enjoying local food and drinks. This year, both of my sisters couldn’t make it so I was able to bring along my boyfriend and best friend. It was awesome to spend the week with friends and family and above all…unplug and relax!

Most days, I would start the morning with a coffee and light breakfast before leaving to scuba dive with Challenge Diving for the morning.  

 

We would return to the house around 1pm. After some lunch, we would grab a beer and head the the pool until sunset. Then we would shower and visit one of our favorite restaurants downtown.

 Most days my lunch was a mix of snacks and looked something like this:  

 

While Mexican American cooking is sometimes known for being saucy, spicy and heavy.. most local food in Cozumel is surprisingly light. While almost none of the resturants had vegetarian entrees listed on their menus, I was not disappointed by a single meal I ate. All I would ask for is vegetarian fajitas or tacos. The surprise of what would come out was half the fun! Sometimes peppers onions and tomato, sometimes carrot mushroom and zucchini.. I never knew! 

They would cook me up whatever veggies rice or beans they had and serve it on a hot skillet with warm flour tortillas and fresh guacamole and pico de gallo to stuff them with. The last place we visited, Casa Mission, even sensed my disappointment when I asked if the black bean soup was vegetarian. Without asking they whipped up an off the menu vegetarian soup for me to enjoy while my family scarfed down the house chicken tortilla soup, so kind and understanding! 

Some other highlights include our day at Punta Sur Eco Beach Park. After a hike up it he lighthouse, some snorkeling and a beachfront massage.. I insulged in a plate of nachos that I may or may not have shared a few chips with our little friends! 

   

 I also love love LOVED our day of snorkeling at Sky Reef and lunch at Coconuts.You can’t snorkel without a proper Bloody Mary first.. Right?  

 

But.. Coconuts is hands down my favorite restaurant and thing to do in Cozumel. It is a beach bar located on the more wild side of the island situated on the cliff side. The views, sand between your toes and margaritas can’t be beat! After a few of their massive drinks you can’t help but fall in love with their in house critters too. 
    
  

Other great meals I enjoyed were at The Pub, Guidos, Antonio’s and Wet Wendy’s. 

  
   
 

Leave a Reply

