Easy (for real) Spicy Homemade Pepper Jelly

I can’t take full credit- a version of this recipe was passed on to me by a coworker. I have always loved Stonewall Kitchen’s spicy sweet pepper jelly, but never considered making it at home. Really, I never considered canning or “jellying” anything. I knew it was a science that required accurate measuring (nope not doing that), temperature monitoring (didn’t even own a thermometer) and perfect timing (LOL nah).

However, it was summer, I was eager to buy up any and all local spicy peppers and this INCREDIBLE pepper jelly recipe fell into my hands. After giving the jelly a taste on a plain ‘ol cracker, I was convinced I had to try and make it. I went out and ventured into the ever-intimidating canning aisle of the store. I wobbled back to my apartment with way too many mason jars and a little container of pectin and started cooking.

A bit of advice- wear plastic gloves. Or if you are like me and can’t be bothered by that, let your hands and any other skin surface you touch burn like fire all day.

Anyway, the jelly came out great. Gave me confidence in canning and preserving, it was so easy! After trying a few different versions of the recipe, I have found one I really love. But be warned, this is spicy. Not like…Franks red hot sauce spicy. It’s more like when you order thai food and accidently get the “hot” option- spicy. If you like more mild spice, switch out some of the hot peppers for a equal weight/size in red pepper.

This stuff is best served over baked brie or a block of goat cheese with crackers or crusty bread. Great to keep in the pantry for a quick appetizer and perfect to take to a superbowl party. I have even used this stuff in a pinch in place of sweet and sour sauce in stir-fry and it was great!

So here it is- give it a try, and let me know how it comes out!

 

Easy Spicy Homemade Pepper Jelly

Makes 1.5 Quarts

Ingredients:

  • 4 Jalapenos
  • 5 Thai dragon peppers
  • 1 Red pepper
  • 1/2 Sweet onion
  • 3/4 cup Apple cider vinegar
  • 1 3/4 cup White sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon Pectin

Instructions:

  • Chop peppers and onion on food processor
  • Bring all ingredients except pectin to a boil in a saucepan. Stir for 1-2 minutes
  • Take off heat and stir in pectin
  • Boil exactly 1 minute
  • Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes
  • Fill sanitized and heated jars with jelly leaving a small space at the rim
  • Flip jars over on a towel and let cool upside down until room temperature 

 

Leave a Reply

