Third Place Vegan Chili

I must admit, I am pretty dang proud of myself. I love to cook, and I love to eat what I cook, but when I entered the office chili cook off, I knew my dish wouldn’t stand a chance next to the meat packed versions. Surprising enough, out of the 25 entries, I took 3rd place!

Cooking chili, especially this time of year is so simple, hearty, and can be healthy. This version of my dish adds a hint of sweet and smoky bbq sauce and butternut squash. I will include a little runthrough of it below!

Ingredients:

  • 1 large can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 small can of fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup bbq sauce
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1.5 cup chopped butternut squash
  • 1/2 cup onion
  • 4 cloves of chopped garlic
  • 1/2 of each large green, red and yellow bell pepper
  • 1 poblano pepper
  • 1 long hot green pepper
  • 2 thai chili peppers
  • a pinch of chili powder, cumin and curry powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Sautee finely chopped veggies in olive oil until tender, add tomato paste and cook for about 1 minute. Add to slow cooker along with the rest of the ingredients, cook for 4-6 hours on medium setting.

Tada! So far this is my favorite version. Best served with some crushed multigrain tortilla chips on top.

 

 

Leave a Reply

