Ginger Dressing

How to: The-Bomb Ginger Dressing

photo

I originally shared this post on my old blog…daytodaywithmanda.wordpress.com, but I love this dressing so much I wanted to share it here too! You know the amazing ginger dressing served over salads at Thai restaurants that seems to make the salad taste SO good?Well, I am the type of person that really enjoys cooking, and as soon as I try something I like, I need to go home and try and copy it. No, my version is not the same, but it is pretty damn close and sooooo good.

Cooking has been something I enjoyed since high school. I always loved learning how to take a few things and make something really awesome. There is nothing I like better than a great farmers market haul and a quiet day cooking. But my process messy and hard to explain. I am not afraid to cook. I am not afraid to mess up, or to do something new. I go with my gut and taste as I go. That being said, I DO NOT FOLLOW RECIPES. I never really have. That is probably why I am not a strong baker..

But anyway, here is how I do my ginger dressing. If you have any questions at all, or variations you like…just leave me a comment and I would be glad to chat!

Ingredients:

1. A nub of fresh ginger probably 3 inches long

2. Carrots, a handful or two of baby carrots will do

3. Oil, use whatever you have. Sesame is the “right” oil but I use olive because I had it

4. Vinegar, use whatever you have. Rice is the “right” vinegar, but I had white and apple cider so I used half and half

5. Onion, I used red, a 1/4 of a small one

6. Garlic, I used 2 spoonfuls of chopped fresh

7. Salt and pepper

Peel your ginger and chop up into smaller chunks, toss into a food processor/blender with carrots, onion and garlic. Look at the texture and add oil and vinegar until it dilutes to a consistency you like. Taste it and add salt and pepper if you want. Give it a taste and pour it into an old jar (hey, it’s green too!)

Pour over some lettuce and veggies and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

