My time in London

SONY DSCIMG_6667

I just wanted to give an overview of my time living in London. I studied abroad in Fall ’13 (first semester of my senior year) with CAPA. While there, I lived in a Flat with 4 other American students in Camden Town, took 3 courses taught by English professors in Kensington, and completed a 20 hour a week internship with The Walkabout Foundation.

I spent almost 4 months becoming a Londoner, and I would go back and do it all again in a heartbeat. I plan on posting some advice that I wish I had or would have been useful to my time in London and my travels. My short experience makes me no expert on the topic, but I do think that I have some practical advice that could be helpful to American students about to live in England.

 

More about my experience with CAPA:

CAPA International Education is not a typical study abroad program. I had the opportunity to complete a 6 credit internship  and still take classes full-time in order to stay on track for my graduation in May. The program offered opportunities to see the city and the world around us in a critical lens, and to get involved. Weekend and day trips and events were offered for free such as a day trip to Stonehenge and Bath, to Stratford Upon Avon, and tours around Primrose Hill, Abbey Road, and a curry dinner on Brick Lane.

I lived  in tight, but nice, living quarters with four other students who I grew to love and share experiences with that I will never forget. I also had the opportunity to travel to other areas such as Florence, Rome, Barcelona, Paris and on a school- organized trip to Amsterdam and Brugge.

The program gave me the freedom to do all the amazing and interesting things I wanted to do, but also gave me the support and guidance to make sure I was safe and educated while I explored the world around me.

Now that I am back in the US, I feel like the CAPA family is still near and dear to my heart. I still talk to and visit my roommates and proudly serve as a campus ambassador for CAPA programs.

 

For more information:

http://www.capaworld.capa.org

http://www.capa.org

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

